Barney Library

Libraries & Museums / Municipal
Architect Tuthill + Wells Architects
Size 15,300 sq.ft.
Cost $3,000,000

This picturesque 1918 library sits off of the historic Main Street in Farmington, CT overlooking the infamous Miss Porter’s School.

CES provided MEP engineering services for the renovations and upgrades of this historic library. This building was renovated and upgraded to meet ADA code requirements, mechanical systems were be upgraded and replaced with more energy efficient ones and the exterior of the building was restored to its original brilliance. Upgrades also included a fully automatic sprinkler system , a new entrance lobby reflecting details of the original building and all windows were replace with new historically correct insulated units.